#7 – Bathroom Attendants

The other day I went to a club with a group of friends.  It was loud, the music was booming, and the drinks were expensive.  As often is the case after I’ve had a few beers, I had to go to the bathroom.  The floors were tiled checkered black and the ceiling was high.  I did my business and then washed my hands.  There was a bathroom attendant handing out towels.  He also had mouthwash, condoms, and a Get Shorty DVD.  In these situations I try to grab my towel from the dispenser but they were out, so I had no choice but to take the ones he offered.  This was slightly uncomfortable, because I knew I didn’t have any money in my pocket and I now felt obliged to give him something.  I also felt bad for the guy because he was old enough to be my father.  I did what any person would do; I looked down in shame and then rushed out of the door.

If you think about it, the entire bathroom attendant situation is useless.  The bathroom attendant is like the guy that offers to clean your car with newspaper, but at least he is doing something that you don’t want to do yourself.  The bathroom attendant on the other hand is handing out paper towels I could grab from a machine.  In fact, it takes just as much effort to grab it from a machine as it does to take it from a bathroom attendant.  Also, the guilt of having an adult ask for change while you’re living the good life partying around is enough to make a grown man cry.  I’m also not sure why it always has to be a sixty-year-old black man wearing a suit?  It seems racist.  As if we are on the Titanic, and blacks are not allowed in the main lounge. 

The function of the bathroom attendant is confused.  He is one part custodian, one part waiter, and two parts panhandler.  Now, I’m not entirely sure what to do about this situation, because I genuinely sympathize with the bathroom attendants, but their subsistence should not be my responsibility.  If the establishment wants someone to look after the bathroom, they should employ the bathroom attendant as a custodian, rather then having him subsist on tips given from guilt driven patrons.

8 Responses to “#7 – Bathroom Attendants”

  1. ace Says:

    nice one tagore

  2. annabelle1234 Says:

    Yes but if you needed a condom like right away I am sure you would be quite happy about the bathroom attendant.

  3. hitup9xo8 Says:

    yo b**ch you needs a rubber u just tele up ya boyyy hitup9xo8 u knwo i alwayzz rollin’ wit um an my bro does 2!! nahh u know i just playinn girl im lovemahcine like chingy give me call im 1 call awayyy

  4. refusenik Says:

    I completely agree with you, those guys definitely make me uncomfortable. We do not need these attendants at all.

  5. natasha Says:

    annabelle!!!!!!! don’t discuss condoms with my brother!

  6. annabelle Says:

    livin’ the good life made me laugh out loud.
    that was a.
    b- it’s not RACIST… it’s not like they hire black people exclusively… it’s institutional discrimination.
    c- in the women’s bathrooms we have perfumes, hairsprays and other such doll-me-up toilettries. obvi i do not use these offerings… but i always wonder how they charge for that, or what the recommend “tip” is… is it per pump? is one pump of perfume worth less or more than a pump of hairspray? it’s too much. ban these at ONCE.

  7. Nik Venet Says:

    hee hee..

    “two parts panhandler,” so very true. The only function they serve to me is to lay off a dollar or two to alleviate the guilt. Now, if these guys would do something useful like sell individual lines of blow or hold your hair when you puke I could dig it.

  8. Mermaid Says:

    I like these attendants. They keep the bathrooms clean and classy. You folks just have no class.

Leave a comment